Thanks to our friends over at the AIGA, we got to attend The Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Awards this week which honored various innovators, disruptors and game-changers who are positively impacting the the world. Co-founded by Professor Clayton Christensen, Craig Hatkoff and Irwin Kula in 2009, the foundation is a non-profit whose mission is to raise awareness of and encourage the advancement of disruptive innovation theory and its application in societally-critical domains. Hosted by Tamron Hall, this year marked the ninth annual awards and every single honoree was an inspiring standout. Listening and just being in the presence of these incredible honorees left us full of hope, ambition and motivation.

Below are all of the 2018 honorees. Click here to learn more about the awards and honorees.

DJ Kool Herc, Pioneer & Founding Father of Hip Hop
Dr. Waleed Hassanein, Founder of Transmedics- the beating heart in a box
Leila Janah, Founder & CEO of Samasource and LXMI- providing work to low-income people globally
Howard W. Buffett, Executive Director of the Howard G. Buffett Foundation, Recipient of the Adam Smith Prize
Michiko Kakutani, Author of “The Death of the Truth”, Recipient of the Book of the Year
Etty Ausch, Activist, Recipient of the Fran Lebowitz Prize- featured in One of Us on Netflix
Elle Reeve, Correspondent for Vice News Tonight- gained critical acclaim for her part in reporting on the white nationalist rally in Charlottesville for VICE News Tonight
Sheila Nevins, Executive Producer and Former President of HBO Documentary Films, Recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award
Chris Messina, Inventor of the Hashtag- #godfather
Tarana Burke, Civil Rights Activist, Director of Girls for Gender Equality, Founder of the #MeToo movement
Questlove, Percussionist, Multi-Instrumentalist, Music Journalist, Producer, Actor
Steven Perry, Assistant Principal & Head, Agriculture Department, John Bowne High School- The Agriculture Program has one of the highest graduation rates of 98% program graduation rate
Nicholas Vita, Co-Founder & CEO of Columbia Care- the largest medical cannabis product development, manufacturing and dispensing operator in the US
Deborra-Lee Furness, Actress & Co-Founder of Hopeland- a platform established to raise awareness around vulnerable and abandoned children
Joseph Lubin, Co-founder of Ethereum- blockchain computing platform and the Founder of Consensys- a blockchain venture studio
Opher Brayer, Entrepreneur, Business Mentor, Teacher, Innovator Opher’s Stages Opher’s Stages- developing unique methodologies for cultivating multi-disciplinary talent and potential in students and adults while providing solutions to the demand for exceptional talent in the business world
Naomi Wadler & Carter Anderson, Student Activists- led a student walk out at their elementary school in Alexandria, Virginia on the one month anniversary of the Parkland shooting. Watch Naomi's Speech at March For Our Lives
Koko Kondo, Peace Activist, Hiroshima Survivor
Beatrice Fihn, Executive Director of the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons, Recipient of the Hersey Prize